Don’t run with scissors. Don’t run as scissors either.

May 19, 2008 at 9:54 am (costume, running, san francisco)

Updated 5/19/2008 at 2:19 pm.

I ran Bay to Breakers yesterday. Last year when I ran, it was a ton of fun, but it really made me want to run the race in costume. So this year, I dressed up as a pair of scissors. And Mark wore a shirt that said “Don’t run with scissors” on the back and we cut up the shirt with scissors.

My costume:

scissors costume

Mark’s costume:

Don\'t run with scissors

I don’t have any photos of us during the race. If any photos from strangers pop up on Flickr, I’ll share them. But it was definitely way more fun to go with a costume, even if there was more wind resistance while running. We got a lot of compliments from people and heard lots of chuckles around us, and hopefully at least some of those chuckles were for us. One woman even said that we had the best costume that she had ever seen! And she had just finished B2B, so that’s saying a lot! It’s unlikely that she ran the race with her eyes clothes, because given how crowded the route is, that would be really stupid and dangerous and unfun!

Update: A prize for anyone who finds a photo of me and/or Mark running the 2008 Bay to Breakers race.  The photo must be of us after the starting line and before the finish line.

3 Comments

  1. Simona said,

    What a grand idea! I hope you find a photo, because I’d love to see it.

  2. Twizzle said,

    Hey so I found your blog after ChristinandBen mentioned you have an epic long post about French Laundry. “Ranyee blog” scored well in the google. Nice work.

    More on point, I thought I sent you a bunch of pictures from the B2B no? I guess the large PROOF over the top of the image is holding you back from posting?

    ;o)

    P.S. Your blog is really hurting my productivity today.

  3. babblingblueberry said,

    I guess I can post that photo. I was kinda hoping for a photo from behind so that you can see the back of Mark’s shirt. And see the entirety of the scissors.

Leave a Reply

