Mac ‘n’ Cheese, please, on your knees

May 27, 2008 at 2:06 pm (food)

I was craving macaroni and cheese and so I made some.  That’s why all the people who don’t cook should get more familiar with doing stuff in the kitchen – you become more self-reliant and you can get what you want when you want it.

I used these fun looking and colorful spiral noodles – from Rainbow Grocery, how appropriate.  I added some grape tomatoes and some fava beans (it’ll probably be the last fava beans of the season).  I also decided to throw some bread crumbs (from the sour dough bread that I made) on top and then throw it in the broiler to crisp it up, but I wound up burning the top a little.

I usually make a bechamel-like sauce first, add cheese, and then add the macaroni.  But this time, I tried a recipe from Elise at Simply Recipes.  It worked really well, and it was pretty fast.  And I only needed one pot.  So I guess, in the future, this is the way to go.

macaroni and cheese with tomatoes and fava beans

Leave a Reply

