Random Thing #2

June 4, 2008 at 8:00 pm (food, random)

Don’t worry, Simona. I’ll eventually get to six. It just takes a long time for me to think of them.

This one is about the stones in my hands. Let’s assume that you believe me. Then you might be wondering, “How did I discover these?”

My sister did this program at the Culinary Institute of America in Napa when she was in high school. There, she learned this little trick to check the doneness of meat. If you touch the tip of your thumb to the tip of your index finger gently, and then use your other hand to press against the fleshy part at the base of your thumb. That’s what a rare piece of meat feels like when you press against it. Medium rare = thumb to middle finger. Medium well = thumb to ring finger. Well done = thumb to pinky.

https://i2.wp.com/blogs.technet.com/blogfiles/ewan/WindowsLiveWriter/Howtocooktheperfectfilletsteak_332/CIMG2062%5B2%5D.jpg

It’s a good thing that I don’t cook very much meat! It turns out this doesn’t work with me. If I tried this trick to check my steak, I’d have really overdone steak! My pad of flesh at the base of my thumb feels like there’s a rock in there rather than feeling like a piece of meat, even with the thumb to the index finger. When my sister shared this trick with me, I compared her hands to mine – hers feel like meat. I’ve actually felt the hands of quite a few people and everyone (Except for Vince, my rock hand brother!) seems to have normal steak hands.

Vince and I tried to figure out why we were different and we’re not really sure. We both hold pencils the same way and it seems to be different from most other people. But we have the rocks in both of our hands even though we just write with one. Maybe it’s from playing piano and/or cello and/or doing ceramics and/or kneading lots of bread dough and/or doing foot reflexology for my mother. But I’m sure Vince didn’t do ALL those things.

Hey, LaMancha! They’re talking about LaMancha goats on So you think you can dance! Great show, by the way.

1 Comment

  1. Simona said,

    Very interesting. I’ll keep it in mind for the day I decide to cook some meat.

Leave a Reply

