I’ve discovered a new method to fix an ant problem!

June 13, 2008 at 2:07 pm (kitchen, random)

By “fix an ant problem,” I mean extermination.  By “extermination,” I mean killing.

We’ve had an ant problem in our kitchen for a few weeks now. We set out various poisons (like the POISONOUS TEAT OF TERRO, as Mark calls it) and they may or may not be working. There seem to be fewer ants, but it’s hard to know for sure.

Now this extermination method that I’m talking about, we know for sure that it’s working. Somehow the ants have found a way to climb into our freezer but then they can’t find their way back out again. Then they freeze to death.

frozen ants

Yes, all those dark specks in the photo are frozen dead ants. I don’t know why they do this. It seems pretty stupid to me. But as you can see, a large number of them have done it and the pile keeps getting bigger.

So here’s the way to exterminate ants:

  1. Make sure that there is a tiny crack for ants to climb into the freezer.
  2. If the path that the ants are using isn’t near the freezer already, lead them towards the freezer with crumbs. (I didn’t have to do this)
  3. Clean the freezer with lemon scented Lysol.

Yes, that’s right, lemon scented Lysol. I think that’s the key. For quite a while, we had an ant problem but they weren’t going into the freezer. After I cleaned the freezer, they couldn’t wait to get to the lemony Lysol party.

1 Comment

  1. What I ate for dinner last night « Babbling Blueberry said,

    […] fridge is too cold (maybe that’s related to the ant story). So we had some strawberries that got frozen. Any suggestions for what I can do with them? Jam? […]

Leave a Reply

