Summer is officially here: Tomato-Bread Salad

July 26, 2008 at 5:48 pm (bread, food, recipes)

I’ve made my first tomato-basil dish of the year.  That means that summer is here and I’m no longer bogged down with thesis seminars and teaching workshops.  And there are also cucumbers to make it extra summery.

I tried out the Tomato-Bread Salad recipe on NYTimes, that’s based on something from the Zuni Cafe Cookbook.

Here’s the NYTimes photo:

Here’s what mine looks like:

It came out looking pretty similar.  My tomatoes look redder and yummier – maybe that’s a NY vs CA thing.  I did use some beautiful heirloom tomatoes, so that probably helped.  It tastes pretty good, but I can imagine it being better.  Here’s what I’d do differently next time:

  • The bread in the roast chicken and bread salad at Zuni is more crispy and less soggy.  The bread in this recipe, even though it is filled with flavor from the juices, comes out soggy.  I’d rip the bread into big crouton-y pieces, toss it with some olive oil infused with garlic, and then toast it.
  • Instead of slicing the tomatoes, I’d dice them into big pieces, which would enable me to…
  • …toss everything together instead of layering and pressing.  I’d pour the juices over the bread at the last minute so that you get the flavor and not so much sogginess.

Leave a Reply

