Very Good Taste’s Omnivore’s 100

September 14, 2008 at 9:32 pm (food)

Okay, I want to join in.  Very Good Taste, “a blog about eating and drinking,” posted this list of 100 things that “every good omnivore should have tried at least once in their life.”  They are suggesting that other bloggers post this list, highlight the items that they’ve tried, and cross out ones that they’d never try.  I’m adding an additional category – italics for items that I’m not sure if I’ve had.  Here we go!

1. Venison
2. Nettle tea
3. Huevos rancheros
4. Steak tartare
5. Crocodile
6. Black pudding
7. Cheese fondue
8. Carp
9. Borscht
10. Baba ghanoush
11. Calamari
12. Pho
13. PB&J sandwich
14. Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16. Epoisses
17. Black truffle
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes
19. Steamed pork buns
20. Pistachio ice cream
21. Heirloom tomatoes
22. Fresh wild berries
23. Foie gras
– Don’t get mad!  I don’t eat this regularly.  I just tried it once.  To see whether I thought it was so delicious that it was worth torturing geese.  It’s good, but not that good.
24. Rice and beans
25. Brawn, or head cheese
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper – Yikes!  I don’t think I’d survive!  I can’t even touch one.  My skin is really sensitive!
27. Dulce de leche – This is the filling in alfajores!
28. Oysters
29. Baklava
30. Bagna cauda – Sounds yummy!  Definitely want to try these
31. Wasabi peas
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl
33. Salted lassi –
not as good as a mango lassi, though.  But that may be because I’m a mango fiend!
34. Sauerkraut
35. Root beer float – I’ve definitely smelled scratch and sniff stickers with this scent.  But not sure if I’ve actually tasted them.
36. Cognac with a fat cigar
37. Clotted cream tea
38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O
39. Gumbo – I made this once and didn’t have a good idea of how hot the cayenne pepper powder!  I had to go out and get extra okra so that I could double the recipe to half the power of the cayenne.  And it was still way too spicy!
40. Oxtail
41. Curried goat
42. Whole insectsI had to get it into my mouth really fast and without thinking. Tastes like ro song!  Aka pork song.  That’s another thing to add to the list.
43. Phaal
44. Goat’s milk – One time even straight from the goat’s teat!  (I didn’t suck the teat, it was squirted from the teat into my mouth!)
45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more
46. Fugu
47. Chicken tikka masala
48. Eel
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut
50. Sea urchin
51. Prickly pear
52. Umeboshi
53. Abalone – One thing that I can’t bold is abalone diving!  That’s one thing that I want to try!  You have to free dive and it has to be below a certain depth and the abalone that you take has to be a certain size.  So it’s tough!  But just the idea of getting your own abalone, grilling it on the beach with some lemon… yum!
54. Paneer
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal – I probably won’t wind up eating this, but that’s because there will be other, better things to eat.
56. Spaetzle – Sounds like it’d be fun.
57. Dirty gin martini
58. Beer above 8% ABV
59. Poutine
60. Carob chips
61. S’mores
62. Sweetbreads
63. Kaolin – What’s that?  Couldn’t even find it on Wikipedia!
64. Currywurst
65. Durian – I tried to try it.  But I didn’t want to buy a whole durian to try one.  And when I saw a woman with segments of durian (I think it was Thailand), she wouldn’t sell me any.
66. Frogs’ legs – My relatives tricked my little sister into trying this.  In Chinese it’s literally “field chicken.”  So that’s what they told her.  She caught on when they started talking about how this kind of chicken likes to jump.
67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake – All of the above and more please!
68. Haggis
69. Fried plantain
70. Chitterlings, or andouillette
71. Gazpacho – Made some for the first time a few weeks ago!  Yay for having an abundance of tomatoes and leftover bread in the summer.
72. Caviar and blini
73. Louche absinthe
74. Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill – Yikes!  I think this theoretically depends on how long it’s been killed and what it is, but very unlikely.
76. Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie – I have a confession:  I used to love these as a kid!
78. Snail
79. Lapsang souchong
80. Bellini
81. Tom yum
82. Eggs Benedict
83. Pocky
– A lot of these things are just snacks that I ate all the time!  It probably helps that I grew up in an “ethnic” household.
84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurantFun and exciting!
85. Kobe beef
86. Hare – Ha ha!  I first read this as ha-re rather than hare.  What’s ha-re?  I think it’s actually just hare, like the rabbit-like animal.
87. Goulash
88. Flowers
89. Horse
90. Criollo chocolate
91. Spam
92. Soft shell crab
93. Rose harissa
94. Catfish – The best is cha ca in Hanoi!  Cha Ca La Vong in Hanoi is fun.  You can find a decent version at Bodega Bistro in the Tenderloin in SF.
95. Mole poblano – Just had a really good version a few days ago by El Buen Comer.
96. Bagel and lox
97. Lobster Thermidor – I may be too young!  Where does one find this dish?
98. Polenta
99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee
100. Snake – Ha ha, my relatives tricked my other sister into trying this soup.  They wanted her to try it to help her skin.  Again, they claimed that it was chicken.  It tastes much more like chicken than frog does!  I saw an episode of Man vs Wild.  He was in the Deep South.  He caught a snake and broke its spine with his teeth and then ripped the flesh also with his teeth.  Apparently, you have to be really carefully not to eat the partially digested and rotting meals that the snake has eaten.  He also killed an alligator with his bare hands and a knife.  He also caught a catfish with one hand.  I wonder how many of this list of 100 he’s eaten.

I’d add this Thai street snack – these coconut custard crispy things.  They’re really good.

53 plus 3 maybes.  1 (very likely) no.  I guess I have to keep eating!

2 Comments

  1. huai said,

    you do…i’m 7 ahead of you. but that’s probably because i have a lot of the alcoholic beverages

  2. babblingblueberry said,

    Maybe, but have you had goats milk straight from the teat?

Leave a Reply

