DC Gelato Discovery – Dolcezza

October 5, 2008 at 6:00 am (dessert, food, ice cream, restaurants, review, washington dc)

This is the best gelato that I’ve had in my life.  Dolcezza.  We went to the one in Georgetown, but apparently they have some other locations and are available at some of the local farmers’ markets.

The gelato is so smooth – it must be nano-sized particles in it.  It tastes rich, but not because it’s high in fat.  In fact, it doesn’t taste that fatty.  It’s the high intensity flavors and the smoothness, I think.  They appear to try to use local and in-season ingredients.  The fruit flavors were all bright and intense, and just like the fresh fruit, but more intense.  It was glorious gelato.

It’s quite expensive (approx $4.50 for a small cup), but I thought it was really worth it because it’s so much better than other gelato places that I’ve tried.

Mark had pineapple honey lime and mocha.  Odd combination but they were both very good.  I had white peach prosecco and concord grape.  Pow!  So flavored!  And so smooth!

Menu appears to change according to what raw ingredients are available.  They have “This week’s menu” on their website, but not all the flavors listed were available.

Here’s an image from another the Ethicurean:

And the associated article.

3 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    I forgot to tell you about this place. The gelato is very good. Try the churros the next time you are there. The fillings are yummy oozy goodness.

    I saw a little presentation by the owners at a local food event while I was in DC and yes, they do try to use all the fruits that are in season from the local farmers. I think their only exceptions are spices.

    By the way, have you tried Etete yet? Go and get some good Ethiopian food.

  2. babblingblueberry said,

    I haven’t tried Etete, but I did go to Queen Makeda across. It was quite tasty.

  3. I found the perfect cupcakes « Babbling Blueberry said,

    […] very many cupcakes in SF.  But if it’s a NYC vs DC bout, NYC wins this round.  But so far, DC holds the gelato title.  That may change after I try some gelato around here, but the DC gelato was mind-blowingly […]

Leave a Reply

