Why do the French museums want me to be a student?

May 2, 2009 at 7:50 pm (architecture, international, review)

I’m not a student and I left my old student IDs at home, so I was fully prepared to pay the regular adult admission price at all the museums in Paris.  But at two museums, a significant fraction of the total # of museums that I went to, even though they asked me if I was a student and I said no, they still gave me the student price.  Why is that?

Some of the non-standard Parisian museums I recommend are the Musee Pasteur and La Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine (architecture museum).  The setup could use a lot of improvement at the Musee Pasteur, but I wound up learning a ton about Pasteur anyway.  Man, he did a lot!  Do you think that if I were doing science 100 years ago, I could have made more discoveries than doing science now?

Musee Pasteur

Musee Pasteur

I’m not so into the old architecture (but if you are, they have lots of casts and replicas of old buildings and it’s pretty neat), but the modern architecture sections were done really well.

img_4227

Model at the architecture musuem

The Musée du Parfum was okay and worth a stop (it’s free) if you’re around the Opera area.  I was expecting a museum full of stuff to smell, but it was mostly a bunch of objects related to perfume, mostly bottles, and a store where they try to sell perfume.

img_4194

Empty bottles of scents that would have been fun to smell

Leave a Reply

