Easiest and tastiest ice cream ever!

November 20, 2009 at 6:36 pm (dessert, ice cream, wedding)

I made caramel apple ice cream a few weeks ago.  And I’ve just made a batch of caramel pear ice cream for Thanksgiving.  It’s David Lebovitz’s recipe from The Perfect Scoop.  It’s ridiculously easy and spectacularly tasty.

It’s so flavorful and rich.  It has the feel of a custard ice cream, but with no eggs.  In fact, it only has 3 ingredients.  4 if you count the little pinch of salt.  5 if you count the squeeze of lemon juice.

The basic idea: caramelize sugar (3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp), throw in a couple pears or apples chopped (3) and cook those in the sugar.  Pour in 2 cups of cream.  Blend.  Recipe calls for straining, but I never do that.  Fiber’s good for you.  The last few things just brighten the flavor, but they’re so easy that I don’t really count them: Pinch of salt, squeeze of lemon juice.  Chill and churn in ice cream maker.

It’s going to be my go-to ice cream now.  And I imagine that in the future, I’ll be tweaking it a bit and trying some variations.

I’m on the bus to Boston now.  For a weekend of cake tasting!  It all starts with the infamous, annual one egg cake… Stay tuned.

2 Comments

  1. TP said,

    Yummmmmmmmm. This sounds tasteee. I would make this but I told An that we’re not allowed to have any new icecream until we finish all the icecream already in our fridge (mango/apricot sorbet from TJ’s). She’s still mad at me I think.

    • babblingblueberry said,

      I have the same problem… I made a lot of ice cream last fall and we haven’t finished it yet. So no new ice cream for us either.

      If you do get around to making this ice cream, it’s really good with with cranberry sorbet.

Leave a Reply

