Picked up my wedding ring!

February 2, 2010 at 4:55 pm (wedding)

I got it from a jewelry maker in Brooklyn.  She uses recycled and reclaimed materials.  We had a little bit of a communication mixup, but I think everything turned out well in the end.

My ring sort of looks like that.  It is rose gold, like in the photo, but the diamonds are champagne colored.  So sometimes they look dark and sometimes they look like champagne and sometimes they look more white.  How fun!

Those are all the details for anyone who’s interested.   Now here’s my dilemma.  I don’t have an engagement ring because I didn’t think it was fair for me to have and wear a ring when Mark didn’t have one.  Mark doesn’t have a ring.  (He’s still trying to decide.  If anyone has any advice to help him out, let him know!)  I was fine with that.  Until I got my hands on a ring.  Now I’m not so sure any more.  I still think what I thought before.  But it’s so pretty and it’s going to be hard to not wear it.  But on the other hand, will the ring exchange at the ceremony be less significant if I’ve already been wearing the ring for months?  On the other hand (ha ha!), it’s just a ring and all these issues are ones that I’m imposing on myself.  But on the other hand, these symbols are important and I want the rings to reflect our equal partnership.  On the other hand… No! There is no other hand!

But Tevye, there is another hand.  But on the other hand, the ring doesn’t fit on the other hand.  And I haven’t solved anything.

2 Comments

  1. TP said,

    Dude, if you like it you should rock it. That is my vote. In this world, Mark only wants you to be happy, so if it makes you happy – love wearing that ring.

    Very pretty. Do you have any backstory on the particular materials used in your ring?

    • babblingblueberry said,

      I actually tried to see if the jewelery maker would be able to use some gold jewelry from my grandmother that I never wear. But she wasn’t able to do it. So there’s no special back story. They’re just reused materials that weren’t freshly mined.

Leave a Reply

